skip to Main Content

Assessment is for Learning (AifL) aims to actively involve the people who use assessment evidence to inform improvement for learners themselves and for the classrooms in which they learn, for their school, and for the wider education system.

There are three types of Assessment commonly used in Trinity High School:

  • Summative
  • Diagnositic
  • Formative.

Effective use of AifL is a key component in our Curriculum for Excellence philosophy.

Summative Assessment

Summative assessment is intended to establish the extent to which pupils have achieved the key learning aims of a programme of work. Summative assessment is most commonly in the form of a formal test of pupil learning. An end of unit test to check that key skills have been acquired or that key points of information have been learned is summative assessment. As is a test in which the pupil demonstrates they have met the success criteria for a longer period of work (e.g. such as an end of year assessment or SQA examination).

Feedback in both cases is usually in the form of a grade.

Diagnostic Assessment

The aim of diagnostic assessment is to reveal whether there exists any underlying challenges to learning or to find out about the learner’s ways of learning, in order to help them achieve. “Diagnostic tests” are available in may published forms, but, in Trinity High School, the teacher’s interaction and discussion with a pupil has often shown to be the most effective basis for this process. Diagnostic assessment is often carried out by Mrs Ramsay and the Support for Learning Department.

This is used to establish a programme of support for the pupil in any area where weaknesses may be shown.

Formative Assessment

Formative Assessment is that which focuses on the gap between present performance and desired goal. To be formative, the information gathered must be used to adapt the teaching and/or the learning to meet the needs of the learner.

Back To Top